Universität Bonn

Abteilung für Asiatische und Islamische Kunstgeschichte

22. Juni 2022

Programme: Emerging Trends in Research on Classical Indian Dance – Ed. II, July 11th, 2022 Programme: Emerging Trends in Research on Classical Indian Dance – Ed. II, July 11th, 2022

Emerging Trends in Research on Classical Indian Dance – Ed. II
July 11th, 2022

Organised by:
Department of Asian and Islamic Art History, University of Bonn, Germany
School of Arts, University of Roehampton, UK

Programme:

Welcome address – 2:00 pm (UK), 3:00 pm (Germany), 6:30 pm (India)
University of Roehampton: Prof. Ann R. David
University of Bonn: Prof. Dr. Julia A. B. Hegewald and Prof. Dr. Claudia Wenzel

Panel 1 - 2:15 pm (UK), 3:15 pm (Germany), 6:45 pm (India)
Chair: Arunima J R

1. Mind Matters - Mental Movements: The impact of the artist’s mind in (classical) South Asian dances
Sandra Jasmin Schlage (University of Bonn, Germany)

2. Nrithya seva in the Saiva Agamas
Anuradha Ramesh (VISTAS, Vels University, Chennai, India)

3. Body, Desire, and Bharatanatyam
Giridhar Raghunathan (University of Roehampton, UK)
→ 15 min break

Panel 2 – 3:30 pm (UK), 4:30 pm (Germany), 8:00 pm (India)
Chair: Aryamba Sriram

4. Contemporary Trends in Kathak
Dr. Varada Pandit (University of Mumbai, India)

5. Can a hybrid approach to Indian Kathak and Western Jazz dance techniques assist in devising a pedagogic method for contemporary dancers?
Shambik Ghose (Leeds Beckett University, UK)

Panel 3 – 4:15 pm (UK), 5:15 pm (Germany), 8:45 pm (India)
Chair: Sripadma Ganapathi

6. Changing Landscape for teaching and learning Indian Classical Dances: Reading the Digital Space – Natyasutra Online
Dr. Swetha Sundaran Mangalath (St. Aloysius College, Mangalore, India)

7. Global Gypsies in Dance Dialogue: Interculturalism among female practitioners of Kālbeliyā dance around the world
Dr. Ayla Jonchere (Ghent University, Belgium)
→ 15 min break

Keynote by Dr. Avanthi Meduri, Reader, School of Arts, University of Roehampton,
UK 5: 15 pm (UK), 6:15 pm (Germany), 9:45 pm (India)

All are welcome! Join via Zoom: https://uni-bonn.zoom.us/j/66047940932?pwd=cUxueHZlWmxRZzRsajQvZEpqcWZqZz09
Meeting-ID: 660 4794 0932; Password: 716601

Wird geladen